Theodore Sturgeon
Sturgeon Memorial Award

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award is presented for the Best Short Science Fiction story for the year. The award was established in 1987 by Dr. James Gunn and Jayne Sturgeon to honor the late author Theodore Sturgeon. The award is presented in conjunction with the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Novel, and is awarded each year at the University of Kansas, Lawrence in July.

How Tangent got Involved
History of the Award
Past Winners
1997 Finalists

How Tangent got Involved

At the 1994 Theodore Sturgeon and John W. Campbell Memorial Awards banquet, James Gunn--founder, with Jayne Sturgeon, of the Sturgeon award--asked the staff of Tangent, the only magazine devoted to reviewing short SF, to help in the restructuring of the nomination process for the Theodore Sturgeon Award. Under the direction of then graduate student, now freelance writer Christopher McKitterick, Tangent reviewers and other reviewers of short SF, professional magazine and anthology editors, and other knowledgeable readers nominate stories that form the total list. From this list a second ballot selects 10-12 finalists from which the winners are chosen by a committee of three judges. Tangent publishes the nominations as its Yearly Suggested Reading List.

The current judges for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award are:

Tangent is proud to be associated with the Sturgeon Award, and wishes to express its gratitude to Dr. James Gunn for the opportunity to assist in this prestigious memorial award.

Return to Contents

History of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

For more information on the origin, history, and a complete list of Sturgeon Award winners from 1987 to the present, read Tangent #12, Fall 1995.

Return to Contents

Tangent Salutes the Theodore Sturgeon Award Winners

1997The Flowers of Aulit PrisonNancy Kress
1996Jigoku no MokoshirokuJohn G. McDaid
1995Forgiveness DayUrsula K LeGuin
1994Fox MagicKij Johnson
1993This Year's Class PictureDan Simmons
1992BuffaloJohn Kessel
1991Bears Discover FireTerry Bisson
1990The Edge of the WorldMichael Swanwick
1989Schrodinger's KittenGeorge Alec Effinger
1988Rachel in LovePat Murphy
1987SurvivingJudith Moffett

Return to Contents

Finalists for the 1997 Theodore Sturgeon Award

These are the finalists for the 1997 Theodore Sturgeon Award presented for the best short science fiction story of the year
William Barton "Age of Aquarius" Asimov's, 5/96
James P. Blaylock "Thirteen Phantasms" Omni On-line, 10/96
Suzy McKee Charnas "Beauty and the Opera or the Phantom Beast" Asimov's, 3/96
John Crowley "Gone" Fantasy & SF, 9/96
Gregory Feeley "The Weighing of Ayre" Starlight 1, 9/96
John M. Ford "Erase/Record/Play" Starlight 1, 9/96
Karen Joy Fowler "The Elizabeth Complex" Crank!, #6 Winter 96
Nancy Kress "Marigold Outlet" Twists of the Tale, 11/96
Nancy Kress "The Flowers of Aulit Prison" [!WINNER!] Asimov's, 10-11, 96
Michael Swanwick "Radio Waves" Omni, Winter 1996
Jeff VanderMeer "Dradin, In Love" Buzzcity Press, 5/96

Return to Contents

[ About Tangent | Author Profiles | Current Issue | Back Issues | Sturgeon Award | Hot Links ]

Tangent - SF&F Short Fiction Review Magazine
Dave Truesdale - Publisher
5779 Norfleet
Raytown, MO 64133
Send email to Dave Truesdale

Annual subscription - $20.00 US - (Non-US subscribers, please add $8.00)
Sample copy - $5.00 US - (Non-US subscribers, please add $2.00)
Please make checks out to Dave Truesdale

Tangent is now taking orders for T-shirts!

Copyright © 1996, Tangent Magazine - all rights reserved

Page maintained by Andrew Burt

Last revised Sunday September 14 1997